Listicle

Books I read just for their covers

Some wise old dude: Never judge a book by its cover.

Me: Pfft.

What? We have all been guilty of it. You’re in a bookstore. You see a book with a beautiful cover. Or its interestingly named title catches your eye. The blurb doesn’t matter any more for the book has such a wonderful cover. The following are books I picked up solely for their catchy covers.

  1. The Earth, My Butt, And Other Big Round Things by Carolyn Macker253106This book lived up to its catchy title. It was one of the best pieces of realistic fiction that I’ve read. WHY IS THIS NOT A MOVIE YET?!Β Rating: 5 out of 5
  2. The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend by Kody Keplinger6931356 Okay, you got me. I like books which capture plus size issues. This book didn’t. Sure, it has a catchy cover, but the book wasn’t all that great. Some parts were a little entertaining but I expected more. Rating: 2.5 out of 5
  3. Matched by Allie Condie7735333Such a pretty, pretty cover! However, I didn’t particularly enjoy the book. The dystopian world was amazing. A little more that and a little less angst from the main character would’ve worked wonders. Rating: 2 out of 5
  4. What Happened To Cass McBride? by Gail Giles315884Both the title and cover drew me to this book. As Patterson says, this book goes very fast. It has an amazing plot and you will not be able to put the book down. Rating: 4 out of 5
  5. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson439288When I picked up this book, I had no idea it was famous. It has a message and it also has an intriguing plot. Like all the reviewer gurus say, all teens MUST read it. Rating: 4 out of 5
  6. Size 12 Is Not Fat by Meg Cabot23220 I bought this book for its title. I will never cease to fangirl over the titles of all the books in the Heather Wells series. You go, Meg Cabot! πŸ˜€ Rating: 4 out of 5
  7. Hate List by Jennifer Brown7893725 This book was brilliant, period. It’ll make you cry. Read it, if you haven’t already. Its another book about teens facing real problems and was a riveting read. Rating: 5 out of 5
  8. Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding227443A book that’ll make you laugh. Bridget Jones is all of us. And to say it like Bridget, the book was v.g. Rating: 4 out of 5
  9. Unwind by Neal Shusterman764347 The cover looks creepy af. I love books that are creepy af. Ergo, I read this book. And read it again. And again. This is one of the books that I will forever continue reading multiple times, as I already mentioned in this post. Rating: 5 out of 5

 

So, these are the books that I read just for their covers. What did you think of this post? What are the books that you read just for their covers? Do let me know in the comments! πŸ™‚

~ Shruti

5 thoughts on “Books I read just for their covers

  1. I love Hate list! I read books for their covers all the time as well as snob books I probably shouldn’t opps.
    I was going to buy Matched because, well it’s beautiful but it had so many average or bad reviews I stopped myself. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I just checked them out. They looked amazing! I particularly liked the covers of The Antitheist’s Bible, Danny’s Story, Ebola in the Garden of Eden, and Green. The blurbs sounded interesting too. I’m adding all 4 to my TBR list! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

