Book Reviews

Kiss Kiss by Roald Dahl

I don’t generally read short stories. The only reason I read this collection of short stories by Dahl was because of the internet screaming about May being Short Story Month and the ubiquitous “Every book lover MUST read these short stories” lists on social media. What’s up with people liking short stories, anyway? It’s okay if you read one or two for some light reading when you’re half way through, say, War And Peace. But continuously reading a bunch of short stories? It has to be boring, right?

At least, that is what I thought until I read Kiss Kiss. I mean, look at the cover! Doesn’t it promise an entertaining and unputdownable set of short stories as weird as the cover itself?

44521

It ended up being such a refreshing change from the books I usually read. This is the first work of Dahl I read (Nope, not even Matilda. Please don’t look at me that way. I was a weird child). His signature black humor and the surprising twists at the end of each story made this an exciting read. In the first few short stories, the twist in the end was unexpected. As I got accustomed to his style, I started eagerly awaiting the twists and even trying to predict them. Of course, I didn’t get them all right. Dahl’s level of deviousness is, sadly, not imitable.

When the characters of each story are introduced, the reader is left wondering what fresh hell is going to be inflicted on them in the end. Two stories in particular- The Way Up To Heaven and Mrs. Bixby And The Colonel’s Coat, stood out. These two stories were delightful and had me cackling like crazy at the endings.

This is not a book that you should analyze with a magnifying glass to review. Rather, sit back, relax, and enjoy it for its sheer brilliance.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

 

So, what did you think of the review? Are there any short stories as great as this that I MUST read? Let me know in the comments!

~ Shruti

2 thoughts on “Kiss Kiss by Roald Dahl

Leave a Reply

