Listicle

9 things you should NEVER say to a bookworm

Book lovers are generally peaceful people. We know when to pick our fights. I mean, who is going to put their book down to get into an argument? But there are some things that annoy us and it would bode well for you if you never say them to us. Ever.

The following are a list of things that I’ve actually had people say to me. If you do not want to irk a bookworm, stay away from these phrases.

  1. I mean, it’s just a fictional character. Why cry so much over their death? giphy
  2. Hey, that book you lent me recently? Yeah, I lost it. giphy1
  3. You waste so much money on books! giphy3Waste? WASTE? You know what else is a waste? Your life. Bye.
  4. Can I borrow that book once you’re done reading it? giphy4This is a direct result of point 2. We have trust issues when it comes to lending our books.
  5. Stop being so obsessed with books! Go out there and learn what’s happening in the real world! giphy6
  6. Ooh, whatcha reading? *angles book to see the cover* giphy7 Unless you’ve read the book and would like to fangirl over it with us, don’t even think about talking to us when we’re reading.
  7. You want to buy ANOTHER book? giphy8The other books on our bookshelves got lonely. Now, SHOO!
  8. Couldn’t find a bookmark. I dog-eared the page instead. giphy9This is a horrible book sin, right up there with breaking the spine. Stay away from our lovelies, you monster!
  9. The movie was better. giphy10

There you have it. Never use these sentences and you don’t have to fear for your life when you’re around a book lover anymore.

(Note: All GIFs are from giphy.)

 

Book nerds, have you gotten annoyed when someone said any of the above to you? Do you have anything to add to the list? As always, let me know in the comments!

~ Shruti

32 thoughts on “9 things you should NEVER say to a bookworm

  1. I dog-ear my own books, but I’m the only one who can do it. Same with breaking the spine, tbh. I just like seeing that my books are well-read. To each their own, haha.

    #7 though. Huge pet peeve of mine. HUGE. I don’t know why, but it’s like, the second you open your book in public, apparently that’s enough for random people to come over and be all like, “What are you reading?” So without missing a beat, I’ll sit back and bring the book with me, lifting it so they can see the cover. If they try to make conversation afterwards, I just give them a look. I’ve found, though, that if I put my earbuds in, I get left alone, so I listen to music while I read in public now. xD

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “Your bookshelf is overflowing. Get rid of books you don’t need”. (I am a mom of a bibliophile, and I can’t describe the reaction I get to that statement in a decent blog comment)

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Great gif choices & I really enjoyed your list. An annoying comment I’ve been getting lately is “Of course you have no space, your home is wall to wall books!” Uhm, no, it isn’t. But now I’m wishing it was…

    I dog-eared some pages last night – in a book catalog. True story. ;D

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wall to wall books? That would be one fine house! I want something like that now too, haha!😁

      …And you dog-eared pages? Tut, tut. But it’s just a book catalog. As long as it’s not an actual book.πŸ˜‚

      Like

  4. 2, 3, 5, 9 – all things my mum has said to me about my reading/book buying habit! Such a great list! I would also add the ‘oh you’re a reader, you love books? Then you must have read *insert classic author here’, that followed by the look of disbelief when you mention you’re not really a classics fan …

    Liked by 1 person

      1. They really are the worst! Yeah, I’ve read a few but they tend to be the ones that real snobs don’t count – Pride and prejudice, animal farm, 1984. Although saying that I adore Les Miserables – why can’t people just accept that reading is reading, all tastes are different, but that they are all as valid as each other?

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Oooh, I can so relate. It kills my soul when people bend the spines of my books. My question to those people: Why? Why must you destroy the good in the world?
    Another one I frequently get is, “I put it in my back and the cover got a little scratched up.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

