Top 5 Wednesday

T5W: Favorite First Sentences

Hiya, readers! It is time for another T5W post!

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey of gingerreadslainey and is currently hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes. To have in on the fun, join this Goodreads group.

The topic for this week is Favorite First Sentences. The first sentence is very important in any book. Some authors choose to begin with a bang, with a sentence so out of the world that you can’t help but read on. Others start off with something commonplace and normal, exactly like it would happen in real life. Whatever be the type of beginning, there are some that are just close to your heart. The following are 5 of my favorite first sentences:

1. From Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter

Look at it! Look at how perfect it is! This and the next sentence are probably on everyone’s T5W list.

2. From Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Pride and Prejudice

3. From My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

My Sister's Keeper.png

What a brilliant start to an even more brilliant book!If you haven’t read it, please do immediately. This is a book everyone should read.

SPOILER ALERT: The best part is the end, when you wonder which sister actually said this.

4. From The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult

Storyteller

Another impressive first sentence from Picoult! The ending of the first chapter is even more breathtaking: “My father trusted me with the details of his death…but in the end, I was too late.”

5. From We the Living by Ayn Rand

We the living

Atlas Shrugged and Fountainhead maybe Rand’s most celebrated works but this is the book that I loved the best. There is something raw and emotional about the writing in this book. It has a permanent position in my list of top 5 favorite books.

 

These are my favorite first sentences. What are yours? Let me know in the comments! Feel free to leave a link to your post in the comments.:)

~ Shruti

7 thoughts on “T5W: Favorite First Sentences

  1. Wow it’s feels like it’s been YEARS since I read My Sister’s Keeper. It was a really great book. And I also really enjoyed the movie. πŸ™‚ Great Top 5! I never even thought to write down or mark the great first sentences in the books I’ve read, so this week’s topic was a little hard. I had to switch it up a bit πŸ™‚ My T5W! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

