Top 5 Wednesday · Uncategorized

T5W: Books I want to read before the end of the year

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme that was createdΒ  by Lainey of gingerreadslainey and is currently hosted by Sam of ThoughtsOnTomes. Head over to this Goodreads group if you want to join in on the fun!

The topic for today’s T5W is Books You Want to Read Before the End of the Year. My TBR pile is already sky high (Figuratively only, although a sky high pile of books would be an interesting sight.). The 5 books that I have mentioned below are books that I want to own and read before the end of this year.

1. When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

25899336

I’ve been tracking the Amazon price for this for a while now. I will be buying this book by the end of next month. I know this book is going to be heartbreaking, yet I can’t wait to read it.

2. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

395040

I’ve said it multiple times that I want to read The Bell Jar. This is another book that I know will destroy me emotionally. 2016 will be the year I finally read this book. Hopefully.

3. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

19288043

I’m always late to the book hype party. Can you believe I still haven’t read this book? I’ve successfully avoided spoilers so far too. This is another book I’m hoping to tackle before 2016 ends.

4. Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult

14866

I was introduced to Jodi Picoult’s books by a friend 4 years back. I’ve absolutely loved all the books of hers that I’ve read so far. The book my friend recommended the most for me was Nineteen Minutes. Just the synopsis makes it seem like this would be a truly amazing book!

5. In Cold Blood by Truman Capote

168642

I once took a “What Book Should You Read Next” quiz and this book was recommended to me. Usually, I take all these random quizzes and completely forget about the results late on. This book, however, has stayed with me ever since and I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

 

That’s all for today! Have you read any of these books? Which one do you think I should read first? Let me know in the comments! πŸ™‚

~ Shruti

 

 

12 thoughts on “T5W: Books I want to read before the end of the year

    1. I was on the fence about that too! But I’ve decided that I don’t want my apprehensions to keep me from a wonderful book. At this point, I’m ready to allow that book to destroy me all it wants. (I rationalize in a weird way, haha) πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  1. What an eclectic list! I love your choices. I remember reading ‘The Bell Jar’ years ago and being impressed by how fully into the narrator’s mind/experience I felt I was while reading. It was a fascinating experience. And (because this needs to be noted too) WAY TO GO with avoiding ‘Gone Girl’ spoilers! I hate spoilers so I respect your approach/skill. Go you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Stuffing fingers into my ears and screaming “LALALA” has worked out pretty well so far in avoiding spoilers, haha. πŸ˜€

      Also, the more I hear about people’s experience reading The Bell Jar, the more I want to read it! Thank you for stopping by. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

