Quote Hoarders

Quote hoarders: Episode 3

Hello, readers!

In many of my posts I’ve talked about how much I love quotes. I’m a mad hoarder of quotes. In order to share this love with you guys, I started a weekly Quote Hoarders feature, which lasted for..ahem.. 2 weeks. This was when I started working and I wasn’t able to keep up with a proper blogging schedule. But now, things are a-changing. I’m bringing back this feature!

I can’t wait to show you all the quotes I’ve been hoarding over the past years! You can read the first 2 quotes here and here.

Today’s quote is one that is very close to my heart. I discovered it fairly recently and I’ve never heard a sounder piece of advice.

the-show

(If you’ve read any post at all on this blog, you would’ve noticed how much I love SNL. Lorne Michaels is the producer of SNL.)

Why this piece of advice is important:

If you overthink as much as yours truly, you’ll understand the pain of analyzing every inch of your work. As Lorne says, whatever you created isn’t going out because it’s perfect and ready; it is going out because it’s about effing time. Fussing over your work is not going to help you; letting people see it is.

Or, as Queen Fey says:

This is something Lorne [Michaels] has said often about Saturday Night Live, but I think it’s a great lesson about not being too precious about your writing. You have to try your hardest to be at the top of your game and improve every joke you can until the last possible second, and then you have to let it go.

You can’t be that kid standing at the top of the waterslide, overthinking it. You have to go down the chute. (And I’m from a generation where a lot of people died on waterslides, so this was an important lesson for me to learn.) You have to let people see what you wrote. It will never be perfect, but perfect is overrated. Perfect is boring on live TV.

Go out there and get the world, you!

 

Did you like this quote? Would you like me to continue this feature on a weekly basis? Do let me know in the comments!

~ Shruti

Leave a Reply

