Quote Hoarders

Quote Hoarders: Episode 4

Since I’m still reeling from the moving, powerful memoir When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi (you can read my review here), today’s quote is the epigraph of the book.

The poem, Caelica 83 by Baron Brooke Fulke Greville, has now made it to my favorite poems list, right up there with O Me! O Life!.

Caeilica 83.jpg

In the image:

You that seek what life is in death,

Now find it air that once was breath.

New names unknown, old names gone:

Till time end bodies, but souls none.

            Reader! then make time, while you be,

            But steps to your eternity.

You can see why When Breath Becomes Air was named so. And, please read the book. You will not regret it.

Coming back to the poem, I don’t think it warrants an analysis from me. If you, like me, are wondering about the meaning of life, I’m sure you’re reacting the same way I did when I first read it: Huge intake of breath, read it again multiple times, put it down, cry, pick it back, read it several more times.

Now go get your life, you!

 

Wait, did you actually react the same way I did? Drop a comment and let me know! 🙂

~ Shruti

Leave a Reply

