Book Reviews

T5W: Current Favorites that Aren’t Books

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme that was created  by Lainey of gingerreadslainey and is currently hosted by Sam of ThoughtsOnTomes. Head over to this Goodreads group if you want to join in on the fun!

The topic for today is Current Favorites that Aren’t Books. Sam wants us T5Wers to talk about interests other than books. They could be anything, like food, TV shows, makeup, etc.

Let the non-bookish T5W commence!

1. Favorite TV show: The Crown

giphy

I started and finished watching this TV show over the last weekend. It was BRILLIANT and you should totally, totally watch it. It is a biographical story about Queen Elizabeth II. I don’t remember much from the history lessons I took in school, but OMG, the Queen’s been through so much. Claire Foy as the Queen is amazing! And, the GIF I’ve used here is one of my favorite scenes. The show maybe set in a timeline long before today but there’s still a lot of relevance. In the show, Prince Philip asks if he has to kneel during the Queen’s coronation. While there is no proof that the real Duke of Edinburgh didn’t like the idea of kneeling in front of his wife (he was from a royal family too; he would’ve understood the necessity), having this scene in the show is relevant because of how, even now, some men today feel emasculated if their wives/girlfriends have a better career than theirs.

2. Favorite episode: Nosedive, Black Mirror (S3E1)

black_mirror

Okay, fine, this is old news. But, I watched all 3 seasons of Black Mirror in a day and a half, back in November. I wanted to talk about this episode in a separate post but never got around to doing it. Nosedive is an episode set in the future, a dystopian world. Here, everyone rates every other person they interact with out of 5 stars. The ratings you get are averaged and this determines your social standing. The 4.8s and above are considered elite. Our protagonist, Lacie, is a 4.2 and she wants to increase her rating to 4.5 or above in order to avail a 20% discount on an apartment. Whether she manages to do it or not is the rest of the episode. Black Mirror, as a whole, is one of my favorite TV shows. If you like dystopia or if you like super creepy stories, this show is definitely for you.

3. Favorite source of humor: Comedy Central Roast Battle

jeff20ross20rb20main

Comics go up, head to head, to roast the crap out of each other. It is filthy, it is dirty, it gets below the belt, and it’s so FREAKIN’ AMAZING! Their Facebook page puts up some of the battles and those 2 minute videos make my day!

4. Favorite GIFs: Winona Ryder at the SAG awards

200200120042005

Winona Ryder is my spirit animal!

5. Favorite poem: “Home” by Warsan Shire

I have a lot of favorite poems, but this poem is very relevant, especially after what a certain tangerine individual has done over the past week. My favorite lines–

no one leaves home unless
home is the mouth of a shark
you only run for the border
when you see the whole city running as well

and

you have to understand,
that no one puts their children in a boat
unless the water is safer than the land

 

This week’s T5W ended on a sombre note, I know. What did you think of the list? Let me know in the comments! Also, leave a link to your T5W post if you wrote one. I’ll stop by and check it out! 🙂

~ Shruti

 

33 thoughts on “T5W: Current Favorites that Aren’t Books

  1. I watched only like the first 20 min of the first episode of The Crown and was sort of enjoying it, but never continued. I may have actually finished the first episode… IDK I can’t remember. I was in a TV slump then as well so that’s probably why. I’ll have to continue with it some time because I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list! You wrote that you have a lot of favorite poems, may I ask what the others are? I am starting to get into poetry and I would love to read some more 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! You should check out all of Warsan Shire’s poems! They’re all great. Some of my other favourites include O Me O Life by Walt Whitman, Caelica 83 by Baron Brooke Fulke Greville, and The City by C. P. Cavafy.😊

      Like

  3. i JUST added the Black Mirror episode to me watchlist. Cannot wait to watch it! I only did season one and it left m a little disturbed but……I think this one may be interesting enough to toss my misgivings into the bin. AND THE CROWN! I finished watching that last night (of course I binged) and damn that’s one of my favourite scenes tooooo!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, yes, season 1 was very disturbing. The remaining 2 seasons are a little creepy too but so much fun to watch! You can never peel your eyes away until the end credits of the last episode!

      And, YAY, one more person to fangirl over The Crown with! The first 24 hours after you finish watching it are toughest. You’ll get over it by repeatedly googling when the next season will release, haha. (That could just have been me lol). Everyone’s acted SO well in it! :O

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s what I was doing last night till I fell asleep. Watching interviews and such. Haha. Even the kids have acted well. It’s hard not to compare with Indian versions of “royalty” tv shows. Haha

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ahahahaha they don’t have the same budget as The Crown. And I don’t think there’s any topic that could have more pull than about the British royal family. Everyone’s always wanted to know how Queen Elizabeth is behind close doors and this show gives us a peek at that. Funnily enough, after watching this show, my first thought was “what does Lillibet think of the show now?”. Must be weird watching your early life on screen.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I keep hearing about Black Mirror, but I haven’t watched it yet. I really want to get to that and give The Crown another try (I watched about half of the first episode and wasn’t into to it, so I stopped, but first episodes I find aren’t always the best).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you liked the poem. And The Crown is based on the Queen’s real life. They’ve tried to be as accurate as possible. In some instances, the drama has been amped up just a little but overall, they’ve tried to stick to the truth. At least, that’s what the numerous articles I was reading about the show said.😂

      Like

Leave a Reply

