Listicle · Satire

An 8 point guide to becoming a PROPER book nerd

There is such a thing as a proper book nerd. This guide will teach you how you can be a real bookaholic by adopting just 8 habits. Lesser mortals may deem you to be a snob, but what do they know? Here are a list of habits that a person should possess to be considered a PROPER book nerd.

1. The look of disdain.

2007

Show open judgement on your face for everything readers not intellectual as yourself do. See someone reading a commercial book? Give the look. Does someone recommend those books to you? Give the look. And then run away. You shouldn’t be seen associating with the basement dwellers.

2. Read only real books a.k.a. classics.

giphy6

Let’s be honest. Classics are the only real books. The things that the wretched peasants read? Horse shit.

3. Go one step further: Speak entirely in Shakespearean language.

200w

It will put the peasants back in their place. A few examples: “Passeth the salt, Mike”, “cometh h’re, Clara”. If Mike and Clara don’t respond, you can always hit them with this direct quote from Henry IV Part I (Act 2, Scene 4):

“Away, you starvelling, you elf-skin, you dried neat’s-tongue, bull’s-pizzle, you stock-fish!”

Psst. Use this English to Shakespearean translator if you’re not that great in Billy’s tongue.

4. Perfect your “But, is it a prize winner?” voice

2009

Books that don’t win prizes do not deserve to be read. And, it wasn’t even reviewed by NYT?! Oh, the horror!

5. Judge Kindle users.

2008

E-reader readers are bottom feeders. You and your butler should quickly walk away from these villagers.

6. Look disgusted when people buy books online.

20010

“What’s Amazon? An illness?” is a line you should use a gazillion times. And then laugh at your own joke.

7. Launch into a tirade against YA readers periodically.

200w1

Let it all out. YA readers are beneath you. They may nod off while you’re ranting and that’s just because they haven’t heard vocabulary such as yours in their life. Bonus points if you can repeatedly ask “You’re an adult who reads YA?” in as nasal a voice as possible. I’m talking nasal level: Janice from Friends.

8. Use air quotes liberally.

20011

Use air quotes when you talk about the “books” that the peasants read. They’re not real books, after all!

There you go! Follow these and you’ll become a real book nerd in no time! Now, why are you wasting time on the Internet? Isn’t there a step stool sized classic somewhere that needs your attention?

 

Thoughts? More points to add? Let me know in the comments!

~ Shruti *walks away, muttering about book snobs*

Find me on Goodreads.

17 thoughts on “An 8 point guide to becoming a PROPER book nerd

  1. Ohh the horror! To be a ya Reader is nigh. If it not a classic, why read at all. No recognition, no award then to hell with it I say. Why I turn up my nose to speeckath in the language of the modern day. What atrocities this earth has gone to! Ohh the pain!

    I love this post I laughed so much to read this! I am guilty as charged as a ya reader. Classics have their merits but modern genres have stolen my heart away. I’m sorry to say I may not be a PROPER book nerd, but I am an avid one (I read everything that comes my way as much as I can). Awesome post!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hahaha! The translator helps! Especially when you’re texting someone. Out loud, not so much, at least for me. I don’t think I can get it right when I’m saying it out loud–I’d never be able to get the accent right or keep a straight face!😁

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This was so funny! Last week, one of my friends from uni told me I read books that ‘read themselves’ because I read mostly YA and he was reading Dostoievski so for some reason that made him better than me. I really dislike when people say things like that. Anyway, great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ugh, I hate it when people do that. All books are equal and people can read whatever they like reading. You can be a person who likes intense works or someone who reads lighthearted books, or both! Whatever floats your boat and all that.😊

      That said, I do occasionally look down on people who like the Twilight series. I should probably stop doing that…🙈

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

