General

Requesting spree between the aisles of NetGalley

I did the unthinkable.

All the fellow book bloggers warned me against it.

I had so much control initially.

Where did it all go?

Now, I’m just a girl

Faced with multiple NetGalley titles.

Racing against time

Trying to finish them all.

20014

Forget the cringe-worthy attempt at writing in the previous paragraph. When I first started blogging, I made a rule for myself–always request only 2 or 3 titles at once in NetGalley. I even followed through with it for a while. Until recently.

I’m on a self-imposed book buying ban due to lack of shelf space and shelf-control (pun intended). I wanted to focus on eBooks until I got a bigger book shelf. A few weeks back, I logged in to NetGalley, and my resolve flew right out the window when I saw all the books.

200w3This is my shelf right now:

tbr

20015

I’m so excited about reading all these pretty books!

I had 7 initially, but I finished 2 of them.

  1. My Life as a Bench by Jaq Hazell | Review
  2. Ensnared by Rita Stradling | Review

The 5 books on my TBR, the first of which I’m currently reading are:

  1. Laura Lake and the Hipster Weddings by Wendy Holden
  2. I feel Bad: All Day. Everyday. About Everything by Orli Auslander
  3. See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt
  4. The Totally Unscientific Study of the Search for Human Happiness by Paula Poundstone
  5. Best Intentions by Erika Raskin

I loved the synopsis of all these books and I can’t wait to read them all!

20016

The next time I use NetGalley, however, I’m definitely going to stick to the rule–request only two or three books.

If you listen closely enough, you can hear my resolve breaking.

HAHAHAHAHAHineedhelpHAHAHAHA

Have you read any of these books? Do you go on a spree on NetGalley ever? Let me know in the comments!

~ Shruti

 

37 thoughts on “Requesting spree between the aisles of NetGalley

  1. I honestly have 0 control when it comes to netgalley. I just joined it last month and requested 6 to start thinking I might just be approved for 1 or 2 of them, I got approved for all but 1 because I requested out of region. Then after that I requested about 5 more and it increased to 10 books, but now I have only 6 books on my netgalley shelf. I’ve never been more motivated to power read through books in my life.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha I can relate so hard! I requested 9 books at once, of which one was rejected because it was out of region and the other one, they haven’t responded yet. But all the books I’ve been accepted for seem to be interesting this time! I can’t wait to finish them all! And, like you, I’ve never been this motivated to plow through books!😁

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Can I just say how ironic I find it that one of them is titled “See What I Have Done”? πŸ˜‰

    I have the same problem with NetGalley myself. I try to at least space them out so they have some time in between when the reviews are due, but the last round of requests I did, I was HORRIBLE on my timing of publish dates, so I’m still struggling to get caught up. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 2 people

  3. It’s so hard to resist on Netgalley! My worst was 26 or so books on my shelf at once. It’s so ridiculous! Trying to catch up on the remaining few I have so I can focus on books on my physical shelf soon haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I, too, am guilty of falling down the Netgalley rabbit hole. No one warned me about over-requesting when I first started. I requested several. All the while thinking, “I will never get chosen for any of these.” Wow! Was I shocked! My first month I had 11 to review. πŸ™ˆ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

