Listicle · TV shows

11 thoughts I had on watching CW’s Riverdale

Spoilers ahead!

2017, on the television front, has been a year of waiting for me so far. I’m waiting for Switched at Birth to end, and for the new seasons of House of Cards, Stranger Things, Orange is the New Black, Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, The Crown, and Black Mirror to release. Just when I couldn’t possibly add more to the waiting game, I found one more show to wait on.

20017

I’m talking about Riverdale, of course!

It will surprise exactly zero people when I say I love me a good murder mystery. Put it together with a cast based off characters from a comic book we all grew up with and my eyes are already glued to Netflix with a bowl of popcorn on my lap and an open mouth.

I binge watched Riverdale yesterday and these are all the thoughts I had.

1. Jughead’s narration is AMAZING.

“Our story is about a town, a small town, and the people who live in the town. From a distance, it presents itself like so many other small towns all over the world: safe, decent, innocent. Get closer though, and you start seeing the shadows underneath. The name of our town is Riverdale. And our story begins, I guess, with what the Blossom twins did this summer … “

blossom-twins-riverdale

Episode 1 starts off with his narration. Jughead Jones, with his moody voice, made me fall for this show hook, line, and sinker.

2. Veronica Lodge is sassy.

I’m talking about the epic “I’m Breakfast at Tiffany’s and this town is so In Cold Blood.”

20022

What I loved about this Veronica is that she’s no longer the elitist, manipulative girl from the comics. She’s trying to change her ways and is a great friend. It’s 2017, and I love that Betty and Veronica aren’t fighting over a guy even now.

3. Speaking of, the girls in this TV show stand up for each other, too!

They put Chuck back in his place after the “sticky maple” incident, which made me cackle with delight. Also, Barb from Stranger Things finally got her justice! In case you missed it, when Chuck and his cronies are kicked off the team, Cheryl says “Hashtag, Justice for Ethel.” Remember #justiceforbarb? Good going, Riverdale!

riverdale-episode-4-review-body-double-shannon-purser-stranger-things

4. Cheryl Blossom has several issues.

20018

She’s the mean girl in this show and obviously has some of the best insults. The first episode looked like she had a twincest going with Jason, but now I’m not very sure of it.

5. I love all the nicknames Archie is given.

“The red-headed Ansel Elgort”, “Justin Gingerlake”, and “Hipster Prince Harry” are grade A nicknames for young Mr. Andrews.

6. The affair with Ms. Grundy was cringe-worthy.

20019

Seriously, Archie? I’m glad the show got rid of her. There’s also a fan theory doing the rounds that Grundy killed Jason, but I think that would be too basic for this show. She’s your regular cradle-robber and the viewers are happy to see the back of her.

7. Archie is weird.

20020

Archie doesn’t really do anything to stay relevant on this show. I think it’ll be great if the next episodes start exploring Archie’s interest in music. He needs to do something interesting to stay relevant! I did like his chemistry with Val. He better get together with Val, and not Veronica. Otherwise, that too would be too basic for this show.

8. Polly, where the hell are you?

I’m sure Polly is real and we’ll be seeing her in the subsequent episodes. There’s another fan theory about Polly being the alter ego of Betty, re: her craziness in the hot tub scene, but I think that was just something inside Betty snapping. Also, episode 5 proves that there is a Polly and she will be home once her “sickness” is gone.

9. I ship Bughead so bad. ❤ ❤ ❤

c4823b4xuaacmba

They’re so cute, can’t they get together already?!

10. The parents on this show all have strong characters.

riverdale-who-killed-jason-week-5-234247-640x320

Betty’s mom is a control freak and her dad could have killed Jason Blossom (see point 11). Mr. and Mrs. Blossom are downright awful to their daughter. Hermione Lodge and Fred Andrews are the best parents on this show. They both have a good relationship with their respective children and I hope we see more of them in the subsequent episodes.

11. Who killed Jason Blossom?

tumblr_o7heq0qxh31vqtiz2o3_540

With the end of episode 5, this theory is going through everyone’s mind: Polly and Jason were going to get married. Polly was preggers. The Coopers found out. Given the family history/rivalry with the Blossoms, Mr. Cooper offed Jason, shoved Polly in a group home, and tells Betty Polly has the “sickness”. Jeez, Mr. Cooper, I hate babies too but I wouldn’t call them a sickness. If this was the plot, it would be another basic bitch move by the showrunners. I’m hoping the killer is someone we didn’t expect at all.

 

What did you think of Riverdale? How do you think Jason died? Do you ship Bughead? Let me know in the comments! 🙂

~ Shruti

 

9 thoughts on “11 thoughts I had on watching CW’s Riverdale

      1. So ya I’m caught up with the latest episode! Once again, I’m glad I came across this and watched the show, it’s so cool to watch all these characters could be IRL (though I kinda miss Archie’s freckles?) And yep hope the ending isn’t lame.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. The Archie in this show is as un-Archie as possible! I don’t even like him that much. Did you binge watch the episodes? I feel like I’m losing interest a little because we have to wait for a long time before the next episode. Binge watching definitely has it perks.😁

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

