Book Reviews

Laura Lake and the Hipster Weddings by Wendy Holden

I received a free copy of this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

I requested this book because of it’s amazing name and the pretty cover. The synopsis says this book is for fans of The Devil Wears Prada and Bridget Jones and I LOVE both the books, especially Bridget Jones. She’s my spirit animal. I read this book with high expectations and I’m sorry to say it didn’t meet all of them.

Goodreas synopsis:

33699163 First in a laugh-out-loud new series that fans of The Devil Wears Prada, Bridget Jones and Sophie Kinsella will love!

She’ll need a triple-barrelled name for the castle one. She’ll need a gallon of glitter for the woodland one. She’ll need a lobster-shaped hat for the Shoreditch one.

Laura Lake longs to be a journalist. Instead she’s an unpaid intern at a glossy magazine – sleeping in the fashion cupboard and living on canapés. But she’s just got her first big break: infiltrate three society weddings and write a juicy exposé.

Security will be tighter than a bodycon dress, but how hard can it be? Cue disappearing brides, demanding socialites – and a jealous office enemy who will do anything to bring her down…

Review:

The synopsis is great but this book does not do it justice. It takes too long for us to see how Laura Lake came to London and started working in a magazine. It wasn’t a fun read until she came to London. I started the book expecting the initial pages to set the background and the remaining to jump right into the weddings and the related shenanigans. That’s all that this book needed to do. One of the biggest problems I had with this book was that it tries to be too many things at once.

Coming to the title character, Laura Lake. My eyes hurt from the amount of rolling I did while reading this book. Her father was a famous investigative reporter who died when she was a kid. She lives with her grandmother, who doesn’t talk to her about him. She meets another investigative reporter, Harry Scott, who didn’t know her father personally but learned about him all by himself. Throughout the book, we see Laura hoping to bump into Harry so that she can get the deets about her dad. There’s no other way for her to get them. It’s 2017, but there’s no other way, really.

20023

Now that we’ve got the negatives out of the way, let’s look at what works. The writing is really good. Laura’s grandmother has several witticisms that readers will enjoy. If you like slapstick humor, this book is totally for you. This is perhaps one of the reasons I didn’t enjoy this book much–I can only cringe at slapstick. This is a light-hearted read and not a re-reading worthy book. The fast-paced nature of it helps a lot.

There will be a sequel to this book. If it retains the quirkiness and loses the long-winded nature of the story, I’d definitely give it a try!

Rating: 2.5 out of 5

So, what did you think of the review? Do you like slapstick humor? Let me know in the comments!

~ Shruti

Find me on Goodreads | Litsy username: Shruti_ThisIsLit

2 thoughts on “Laura Lake and the Hipster Weddings by Wendy Holden

    1. Hey, if you like slapstick, I’m sure you’d like reading this book! I just didn’t find some of it especially believable. I Google my own name several times on an average week; you’d think she’d google her father’s name. Granted, I’m very narcissistic😂. Do check out the book! It’s lighthearted and fast paced, so even if you don’t like some of it, it’ll be over soon!😝

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

