Listicle

13 things that book lovers do that are not weird at all, really.

Book nerds are a special kind of people. There are a lot of things that we all do when it comes to books that the normal people don’t understand. If you are a book nerd, look at this list and see if you do all of this too.

1. You always have a book with you, wherever you go.

200

2. You cry when a fictional character dies.

2001

3. You don’t like being interrupted while reading.

giphy6

4. You when someone says “Oh, it’s been so long since I read a book”.

2002

5. Or “Wait, people still read? Hahaha that’s so outdated”.

2003

Alert! Friendship terminated.

6. You give a book a loving caress once you’re done reading it.

200w1

7. “Your life may be in ruins but you know a book will always have your back.”–book lovers everywhere, probably.

200w

8. You deciding the number of books you can take on vacation is painful to watch.

2005

9. You get annoyed when book to movie adaptations get facts wrong.

2006

10. You always sniff a book before reading it.

200w

11. You’ve been know to use receipts as bookmarks. Almost always.

2007

12. You get mad when people commit book sins like dog-earing, breaking the spine, or writing on books.

2005

[Psst. Check out You did WHAT to my book?!]

13. You pause for a moment in a bookstore/library before moving towards the books.

200w2

Books are pretty and need to be admired from afar first.

What did you think of all these points? Want to add another point? Let me know in the comments.

Happy reading!

~ Shruti

 

53 thoughts on “13 things that book lovers do that are not weird at all, really.

    1. Omg, I was going to add another point to this list-“you’ve probably committed some book sins yourself, unintentionally, due to re-re-re-…-reading.” Couldn’t find an appropriate GIF and adding a photo of me hiding in shame wouldn’t do, soooo…πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ™ˆ

      It’s great that you don’t use receipts! I stopped using traditional bookmarks long back. Now I just shove receipts to mark my place in a book.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Fabulous! Another thing I do is abandon books when I’m totally disgusted with it. I left Her Fearful Symmetry in a hotel in Virginia. I tucked A House of Sand and Fog into the seat pocket of an airplane. I always remember but I never go back.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, I can never do that. But when I look at books that seem abandoned, I get this HUGE urge to just take them and go. Never mind the fact that they were probably abandoned because they were boring. I’ve never taken a book but I’ve always wanted to. I’ll keep staring at these books in discomfort and walk away, telling myself it’s okay and completely normal to want to steal.πŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆπŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I wonder how many people saw your books and had the hitherto dormant thief in them want to take the books and run.πŸ˜‚

        Let’s just agree on the fact that book readers are a really weird lot.πŸ˜‚ Thanks for stopping by!😁

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Uh oh. I almost always dog-ear my books, I was literally just thinking about this today! I cannot be trusted to carry around a “bookmark” it disturbs me to have anything extra with the book and i move around so much it hardly ever stays with me πŸ˜₯ lol but it’s only cool as long as I do it to MY book. Great post (P.S – haven’t been here on WP lately, so you might see some likes and comments from me :P)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha, like and comment away! I will be stalking your posts soon today.πŸ˜‚ Anyway, if there’s one thing I’ve learned here on WP, it is that there are a lot of people who dog-ear books. The old Shruti would’ve been all “OH THE HORROR!”. Post-WP Shruti is cool and believes in equality.πŸ˜‚

      …except for breaking the spine. Don’t even break a spine.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

