Book Reviews

Best Intentions by Erika Raskin

I received this book as an ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed here are my own.

I cannot stress this enough–I LOVED this book. It drove me crazy. It’s been so long since I was this obsessed with a book. I command you to check this book out once it releases. I swear to all literary gods that you’ll like this book!

2008

Expected publication: 15th August, 2017

Goodreads synopsis:

31450562Marti Trailor is a mother of three, a New York congressman’s daughter, and wife to a successful obstetrician. Tired of playing the dutiful stay-at-home mom, she jumps at the opportunity to return to her stalled career as a hospital social worker. The catch? The job is at the same hospital where her husband works, and the doctor is not so keen.

As Marti gets enmeshed in the world of the hospital long hours, overworked doctors, entrenched and dangerous politics she witnesses something that she cannot unsee. Marti takes it upon herself to do the right thing. But the right thing comes with unintended consequences, and before she even has time to plead innocence, Marti finds herself thrust under a dangerous spotlight.

Peeling back the layers of one woman s precipitous journey from stay-at-home mom to murder trial defendant, Best Intentions is Erika Raskin s sophomore gem, a domestic mystery set against a captivating emotional backdrop.

Review:

As always, let’s start with the characters. It’s all the more relevant here because of how character-driven this book is. This book’s rating is fully because of all the strong characters that are in it. They beautifully carry the story forward. I was rooting for the protagonist Marti throughout. I was even able to identify with Marti a lot! I took to calling some of my favorite lines as Marti-isms. My personal favorites are the following.

“My personal backup singers, the Anxieties, roused.”

I will definitely use this at least once in the near future! Ladies and gentlemen, take a look at Exhibit B now.

“If you have a gangrenous wound on your foot, you don’t notice sunburned shoulders.”

I like this one because of its implications and it helps that it’s said in a beautiful manner.

Because I was already in love with Marti, I reacted like all her downfalls were mine while reading this book. Like all thriller/suspense novels involving doctors, Marti and her husband have marital issues. This maybe a trope but it never gets old for me. I swear, all the medical thrillers I’ve read have turned me away from doctors forever. But, I digress. Marti’s husband Elliot is an overworked doctor who’s never around. When he is, he constantly snaps at Marti. Needless to say, I HATED him.

2009

The world building is amazing. The story jumps between the past and the present and it beautifully merges at the 70% mark. What I really liked about the plot was how simple it was. It’s not very cerebral but it has far-reaching consequences. And Ms. Raskin ties it all up neatly. There are no plotholes, this book ends perfectly. The writing is excellent and the story is extremely fast-paced. The fast-paced nature also made me blind to negatives, if any.

To summarize, this is the best in women’s literary fiction I’ve read in a long time. If you enjoy women’s fiction and suspense, please do read this book. I assure you you’ll love it. Oh, and watch out for the Marti-isms!

In the acknowledgements section, the author talks about the protracted effort that was put in to get this book out. I would really like to commend her. As a reader, it makes me very happy that none of her efforts went to waste. This story is beautiful and hopefully makes up for all the work she put in! 🙂

Rating: 5 out of 5

What did you think of this review? Will you read the book when it comes out? Let me know in the comments!

~ Shruti

Find me on Goodreads.

3 thoughts on “Best Intentions by Erika Raskin

Leave a Reply

