Listicle

7 things only people who read while commuting by public transport will understand.

Like me, you probably read when you commute by public transportation every day. And, like yours truly, you’ve probably experienced all of the following, too.

1. When you get into a really crowded train or bus, but forget the crowd when you open your book.

2003

2. When you smell your book and catch a commuter giving you weird looks.

2004

3. When you sense someone obviously reading over your shoulder.

200w

4. When you make eye contact with another reader and you do the super-secret-book-lover-kinship nod.

2005

5. When you’re trying to find out the title of a book another commuter is reading and break out the ninja moves.

2006

6. When you see someone reading your favorite book and want to fangirl over it with them but also don’t want to disturb them.

200w1

7. When you sigh loudly because your stop has come and you need to close your book.

200w2

And, the cycle starts again the next day!

Do you read on public transportation? Have you experienced any of this? Let me know in the comments! πŸ™‚

~ Shruti

 

25 thoughts on “7 things only people who read while commuting by public transport will understand.

  1. ONE HELL OF A YES. But reading on a bus can become tiresome as the bus keeps doing its jiggle-wiggle. And for a person like me, who has bad eye-sight, it is frustrating. *still hoping that power doesn’t increase. What power? Well lens power duh* πŸ˜‚β€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I laughed so hard Shruti! And no need to shut your book once your stop is there… go read my latest post of the day about the reasons to read and my readwalking. I find myself in your post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you liked it! And readwalking? Color me intrigued! I’m gonna run over to your post now!😁

      πŸƒπŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸƒπŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸƒπŸΌβ€β™€οΈ

      Like

    1. Ugh, SAME! I actually wrote a post about things you should never say to a bookworm once and this was one of the points. This is why I break out the ninja moves to find out book titles instead of just asking the person. And when I see someone else doing it to see MY book covers, I appreciate it so much!😁😁

      You’re not alone!😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Number 7 is definitely me! I think this is also the reason why I stopped reading while commuting. My bus ride to work is very short and it feels like the second I open my book, it’s already my stop. Lol it just frustrates me so I’ve decided to leave my reading at home

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My train ride to work is 50 minutes. I read the entire way and when I need to get off the train, I get all “hmm, do I reallllly need my job?”.πŸ˜‚

      It’s good that you’re leaving your reading at home. People keep telling me reading on moving vehicles is not good for the eyes.😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sometimes I wish I live farther just so I can actually read on the bus, haha. And yeah you probably need it to buy more books to read – at least that’s what I tell myself πŸ˜‚

        I’ve always been told that, too! I’ve never cared much, though πŸ˜… thankfully my eyes are still 20-20 at this point πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I regularly read on my way to and from schoolπŸ™ˆ all of this is so accurateπŸ˜‚ especially the one where you’re so engrossed in what you’re reading that you tend to forget your surroundingsπŸ™Š

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Totally me. Especially when it’s time to close the book. If I’m transferring to another train/bus I try to end at a point when I can pick up again without having to rejog my memory or disrupting the flow. Its a calculated process lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

