General · Listicle

9 tips for the book blogger who is just starting out.

It was my blog’s 1 year anniversary three days back. On May 25, 2016, I started this blog with a review of Killing Floor (Jack Reacher #1) by Lee Child. Looking back, I realize that starting this blog was a spur of the moment thing. I had a little notebook where I reviewed books. I slowly moved the reviews to Goodreads, a friend noticed them, and she said “You know what? You should start a blog!”. And that was it! She said it one morning and this blog was up and running in the evening.

For half an hour until before I started this blog, I Googled about book blogs and tips related to blogging. I didn’t really get much of it and like with everything else I do in life, I decided to just wing it.

I wouldn’t change a thing about this journey. Not even the name, despite the fact “This is Lit” is slowly getting out of our Internet slang. Maybe I should edit it to “This is Lit AF”?

Over this one year, I’ve moved from being “just another book blog” to a blog that gets a lot of views and free Advanced Reading Copies (ARCs) from authors in exchange for reviews. This list of tips is for all the new bloggers making use of the summer vacation and starting out. I want this article to give you what I never had–a one-stop for all things book blogging!

1. Review, review, review!

Well, this is pretty obvious. You’re here to review books. The more you review, the more chances you have of getting free books.

I see a number of blogs these days that are up without any post on them. DO NOT DO THAT. No one likes visiting a blog and not seeing any post. Make your blog public only after you have your first post up. Not having a post up is not going to hurt your chances, it’s just not very nice for visitors. They need a little something that’ll make them click the Follow button.

2. Add a review policy.

First month in, you probably won’t be contacted to review books. But, the more you post, the more you will get noticed by authors and publishers. When they check out your blog, they need to know what kind of books you like, your preferences, and other general details. Put up a review policy that is very clear and direct.

Take a look at my review policy for reference.

3. Participate in a tag/meme.

Tags are this amazing thing in the blogosphere. There’s a different tag floating around every other week. When you first start blogging, these will help you out. Every tag is about getting nominated and nominating other people. This is an excellent way to meet other bloggers. Visit a tag post and you’ll get at least 8 new people to follow. Book blogging’s version of a pyramid scam friendship will help you grow your followers list.

Note: We need you to put original content out there, for tags are just tacky once the initial shine dies down. Do the occasional tag but make sure your blog is not all tags and memes.

4. Join NetGalley.

NetGalley is a site through which you can request to read e-copies of books that are yet to be released and review them. If you started a blog yesterday, don’t expect much results from NetGalley. Give it some time, have some reviews up, and a month or two later start requesting books on NetGalley.

A word to the wise: Don’t go on a requesting spree on NetGalley. Every blogger hears this but goes ahead and does it anyway, yours truly included. You may think your requests won’t get accepted by all of them, but publishers do need their books to be reviewed by a set count of people before they release. Make sure you don’t pile up too many books and struggle to complete them. Also, make sure you review ALL of the books you get through NetGalley. Your feedback helps books, period.

There are a number of other services, like Edelweiss, that help you get e-ARCs. I prefer NetGalley, but you can decide which service you want to use. Initially, you will only be getting e-ARCs. Once you become more established, the print copies will start coming in.

5. Review all the ARCs you get.

You’d think this doesn’t deserve its own point, but the sheer number of people who don’t follow this rule is huge. Review all the ARCs and galleys you get.Β  It’s common sense and general courtesy to review the book you got for free from the author. Add a a line about how you procured the book. There’s a recent controversy in the blogosphere about thanking authors in reviews. Decide for yourself which side of this argument you’re on.

6. Add a Contact page to your blog.

Whether it’s a Contact form or just your email address, let it be known on your blog how you can be reached. The more your blog grows, the more authors and publishers will want to contact you to request you to read their books.

7. Don’t just write reviews.

I care about stats. I like knowing how my blog is going. At a particularly low point on the stats front, I got mad and wrote a discussion post on why reviews just don’t cut it anymore. I stand by my arguments, but that doesn’t mean you should just not review books. Take a look at what all the commenters (fellow bloggers) on that post have said. People do care. People still want to know what you think about books. Your stats will tank some day. But, they will also go up.

However, make sure you write content other than book reviews. Tell your followers a story. Lists are evergreen-make use of them! Write discussion posts about bookish/blogging-related thoughts. Remember, yours is a book blog–not a book review blog. Follow the core theme but don’t put up just reviews.

8. Comment on others’ posts.

This is the most important rule of all. Comment! You need to network as much as possible. If you encourage one person, they will come back and visit your posts. The blogging community is very open and friendly–reach out if you need advice, or just leave a comment about what you thought of someone’s post. This is how you build your reader base.

9. Be persistent.

Don’t write one post and expect miracles. Write regularly. Read other blogs and see how they’re doing it. When I started blogging, I wrote a post every other day. So did all the other people who joined WordPress that summer. But, with the start of the school year and people like me joining their first jobs out of uni, the number of posts dwindled down. Try to make time for your blog. Your voice should still be heard in the WordPress community. You don’t have to blog every day, just aim for a regular schedule. Remember, persistence is key!

Most of all, remember to have fun. You’re here to write about things you’re passionate about. Make sure you’re having fun while building your blog to be a successful website.

 

What did you think of this post? Would you like to add some more suggestions? Do it in the comments!

~ Shruti

Find me on Goodreads | Twitter

 

 

 

42 thoughts on “9 tips for the book blogger who is just starting out.

  1. Great advices Shruti! I also wrote a listicle months ago about starting a blog. I would add to choose your theme, blogging platform and blog hosting with care. You have limitations in some theme that you’re not aware of beginning blogging. I did not know the difference between page and category and… Also hosting on WP.com or using WP.org is different with pros and cons with each choice. It may seem technical if you begin but I think you need to know what you will and won’t be able to do. Meme, commenting etc. Is the best advice too! Well done πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Sophie! And all the points you’ve mentioned are important too. I just don’t like thinking about stuff I don’t really understand…πŸ˜‰

      Your points about the theme are right on. I used to use a theme that had many limitations before I realised that I needed a better theme. You should write a post about the tech side of things for the newbies and people like me, alike!😁

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am a new blogger and I am glad I stumbled across your post. Thank you so much for the useful tips for new book bloggers.

    I have a question. How can I do tags? Should I wait for someone to nominate me or can I create one and nominate others?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Welcome to the blogosphere! About tags, you can do either. Also, you don’t need to wait for people to nominate you. If you see a tag you like, just do it. There are no strict rules about tags and memes. Tags are done because they’re easy to do and you can meet other bloggers this way.

      If you’re not comfortable with doing tags this way, you can always hunt for bloggers who left their nominations “open”. Any reader can do that tag if they’re interested. Happy blogging!😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

