Book Reviews

Drifting in the Push by Daniel Garrison

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions mentioned here are my own.

When Daniel Garrison contacted me about this book, he said that this book was all about adventure. My review policy doesn’t have adventure in the list of genres I prefer, but Daniel believed that I would like the book nevertheless. He was absolutely right–I loved this book!

Goodreads synopsis:

30752133Drifting in the Push is a fast-paced, comical romp that takes the reader on a journey through the unintentional adventures of one man’s reality. From the Rocky Mountains to the Pacific Ocean, from Mexico to Alaska, missteps, stubborn obstacles, and fate are his constant companions, along with an offbeat assortment of entertaining characters. From time to time, his escapades include his two childhood friends—Bryan, who follows him to the unforgiving Arctic, and Shane, who steers him down an unpleasant alley or two. Amid this craziness, he picks up another friend—Hank, his devoted dog. This chronological series of interdependent short stories will take you from fear to love, amusement to surprise, and it just might occasionally leave a tear in your eye.

Review:

I didn’t have any set expectations when I started reading this book. It took me a couple of chapters to get into it, but once the book got me hooked, I was in for a ride. Drifting in the Push is Daniel Garrison’s account of how he nearly died in different scenarios from boyhood to adulthood, in short story format. 😀 Oh, and there’s a dog! Who lives until the end of this book! And is ADORABLE!

READ THIS BOOK, PEASANT!

Don’t think, even for a minute, that this book is boring. Every story in this book is engrossing. They are chronological stories, starting from Daniel’s childhood. Even as a child, he’s had interesting experiences. I was constantly being amazed by the different states he’s lived in and the different situations he’s been put in. How does one live like that?!

I’m a hermit and I hate leaving my house. Reading this book about the author’s wanderings made me very happy, though. I don’t know if it has inspired me to move around a lot, but it definitely introduced me to adventure and trying to seek new experiences in life.

And as the blurb promises, the book did bring a tear or thousand to the eye occasionally.

A sequel to this book is in the works. When it releases, I will be first in line to buy it.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

 

Do you have wanderlust? Would you read this book? Let me know in the comments!

~ Shruti

Goodreads | Twitter

 

4 thoughts on “Drifting in the Push by Daniel Garrison

Leave a Reply

