Chai break

Chai break: How do you find time to read?

Chai break is a periodic feature on This is Lit to discuss concerns that every book blogger has. This is meant to be a lighthearted discussion that you’d have over tea and the only reason for it not being called Discussion Post is that the site’s author thinks that would be too mainstream. Pfft.

Nerds!

We’re discussing an important question today–how on Earth do you find time to read?

This is a question that people usually ask me. My answers are usually one of the following:

  1. I have a blog and my followers need to know my thoughts about the books I read (I guess?).
  2. I have no social life. I do not hang out with friends. All 2 of my friends are okay with visiting me maybe twice a year.
  3. There’s nothing else I’d rather be doing.

I mainly read on the train to work because it’s a 50 minute journey. If I don’t have a book to read, I tend to tweet lame, half jokes that only I find funny instead.

This is why I read. To keep my weird humor off the Internet. Soz.

I only read while going to work, on weekdays. On weekends, I binge watch TV shows, binge eat unhealthy food, and then cry myself to sleep.

200

It’s a vicious cycle.

People always say they just don’t have time to read. But, here’s what I’ve found. You can always make time to read if you want to.

  1. Forget your electronic gadgets for a while.
    It’s okay if you don’t send out that lame tweet right away. You don’t need to gush over that cute dog on Instagram for the next hour. Stop! Sit down and read instead! After a while, even having these distractions by your side wouldn’t stop you from reading.
  2. Find your free time.
    There must be one time of the day when you’re comfortable reading. Do you have a long commute to school or work?  Pick up a book and read, instead of staring off into space.
  3. Discover your favorite genre.
    Don’t like the book you’re reading? Put it down and start another. Reading a book you don’t particularly like will only make you hate reading. Pick up another book that you’ll definitely like. It doesn’t matter if it’s YA, a rom-com, or a commercial thriller. Just READ!
Let’s discuss!

How do YOU find time to read? What advice will you give to people who say they just don’t have time to read? Let’s talk it out in the comments!

 

~ Shruti

Goodreads | Twitter

22 thoughts on “Chai break: How do you find time to read?

    1. Right?! It’s like, when you don’t stick to the usual schedule for a few days, it becomes a pattern and the next thing you know, Goodreads says you’re 100 books behind schedule on your reading challenge and it’s the end of the year. 🙈 This has actually happened to me, haha. 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I always read before bed and that helps me immensely. Sometimes I have no time to read during the day and having that sheduled reading time makes sure that I at least have some time to read every day. Even if it’s only for ten minutes, because I’m too tired. When people ask me how to find the time to read, I always tell them to have a designated time for it. I also tell them that if it’s a priority you’ll always find at least some time to read even if it means not watching Netflix that day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yeah, once you have a schedule you’ll definitely stick to it. I usually can’t do anything other than read while taking the train to work, because I’ve got it in my head that it’s my reading time. 😊

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

      1. Hahaha I wasn’t that creative. I had the textbook open on my desk and the story book underneath. Like a teacher wouldn’t notice if a student kept staring at their lap throughout class. 🤦🏼‍♀️ I got kicked out by several teachers and yet, I never learned. 😂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

